top of page
  • Writer's pictureDave Freedman

Pep Talk

Updated: Nov 20, 2020

Flash Fiction by Dave Freedman



When you go out on that field, I want every one of you boys to give 110 percent. Do you hear me? I don’t want to see any of you giving less than 110 percent on that football field.


Coach, what if the other team is giving 111 percent?


Then you damn well better give 112 percent. You hear me?


Well, what if they see us giving 112 percent and so they start giving 113 percent?


Dammit, Scott, you know what I mean, don’t you? Are you an idiot? You just give 150 percent all the time and you won’t have to worry about the other team.


Coach, what if they give 6,000 percent. What do we do then?


Coach, I heard the Cardinals manager say his players always give 100 percent. Does that mean they don’t play as hard as they can? They’re not giving 110 percent.


Dammit, I want you guys to do your best for your team and your school. Do you understand me now? Do your best. Do more than your best.


Coach…


Now let’s get out there and give it everything you got—and a little extra!

 

Photo credit: Wikimedia Commons

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page